Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

1st Team Match Report

HYUFC Hayes & Yeading Utd 4
Harrow Borough 2
Hayes & Yeading’s pre-season campaign continued apace on Tuesday evening as we welcomed Harrow Borough to our 3G training pitch with the fixture being switched due to the non-availability of Borough’s Earlsmead ground for the scheduled fixture.

A quick opening from United saw a fourth minute opening come the way of Lewis Toomey who collected a Toby Little pass in the left channel, his shot from the corner of the Harrow box being blocked out by ‘keeper Hafed Al-Droubi.

Minutes later a burst through the United defence from Lynton Goss saw the Borough striker shaping to shoot only to have the ball taken from his toes by a fine Ryan Kinnane recovery tackle inside the United box.

Another chance for the visitors came shortly after as a short free-kick by former United youth player Michael Bryan found the impressive Ahmed El Sahib, his 20 yard shot pitching just in front of United’s newly signed ‘keeper James Shaw who managed to block the ball wide of the target.

Four minutes later United opened the scoring, Toomey collected the ball and beat his marker before sending strike partner Lee Barney through, the former Beaconsfield striker drawing Al-Droubi before firing home in confident style.

After a lively start the next 20 minutes or so were spent going from end to end with little in the shape of clear chances and then with just five minutes of the half remaining United struck again. The move started with the ball in Shaw’s hands, he found skipper Scott Donnelly who after exchanging passes with Ola Olajubu slid the ball through the Borough defence to Toomey who moved toward goal before planting the ball past Al-Droubi.

With changes a plenty at the break, it was Borough who almost reduced the arrears just three minutes into the second half as a corner from the left side was met on the volley at the near post by Ryan Moss, his effort going just wide of the United goal.

Just before the hour mark a charge at the Borough area by Olajubu resulted in his being felled inches outside the box. Manny Duku took charge at the free-kick but although he fired past the wall, Al-Droubi was well positioned to gather the shot into his midriff.

The other side of the hour mark Borough pulled one back, the ball being played across the United box to George Moore who struck a fine shot into the top corner beyond Shaw’s fingertips from 18 yards.

Borough almost had another soon after as Moss beat Shaw only for his long range shot to come back into play off the inside of the United post and almost immediately United went to the other end and re-established the two goal advantage with Duku playing a neat interchange with Kaan Fehmi before firing past Al-Droubi.

Zaied Sabti volleyed a Bryan cross over the United goal shortly after before Duku helped himself to another by dinking a neat clip over Al-Droubi’s dive having got a nice bounce as he went past the last defender.

The 74th minute saw United’s eighth and final change as Luke Daley replaced Shaw between the sticks, noteworthy as less than sixty seconds later he needed his full stretch to tip away a fierce drive from Borough scorer Moore.

Moore however was not to be denied a second as he found the net once again from the edge of the box on 88 minutes, this time his strike with the outside of his right foot curling neatly into the bottom corner of Daley’s net. He was however denied a hat-trick in stoppage time by a double point blank save by Daley before the ball was cleared and referee Morrison brought the game to it’s conclusion.

Report by Kevin Watts.

Hayes & Yeading United
Harrow Borough
James Shaw
Half-Time: 2-0

Full-Time: 4-2

Referee: Mr N Morrison

Attendance: 50ish


Hayes & Yeading United:
Barney (16)
Toomey (40)
Duku (67 & 73)

Harrow Borough:
Moore (62 & 88)

Hafed Al-Droubi
Keano Robinson
Ahmed El Sahib
Toby Little
Ryan Haugh
Priestly Farquharson
George Fenton
Liam McDevitt
George Moore
Ryan Kinnane
© Adam Richards
Scott Donnelly ©
Michael Bryan
Ola Olajubu
Lewis Cole
Lee Barney
Lynton Goss
Scott Bridges
Frank Keita
Lewis Toomey
L Diakasse
Josh Chamberlain (for Bridges, 18)
Luke Daley (for Shaw, 74)
Manny Folarin (for Farquharson, 38)
Mark McLeod (for El Sahib, 46)
Trialist D (for Little, 68)
Stephen Hamilton-Forbes (for Richards, 46)
Kaan Fehmi (for Donnelly, 46)
Zaied Sabti (for Keita, 46)
Ismael Ehui (for Barney, 46)
Ryan Moss (for Diakasse, 46)
George Ademiluyi (for McDevitt, 46)
Manny Duku (for Toomey, 46)
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

Powered by FcTables.com
iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy