Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

1st Team Match Report

Hitchin Town 1
Hayes & Yeading Utd 1
(Hitchin Town win 4-2 on pens)
Holders Hayes & Yeading United failed to make a second consecutive final of the Southern League Cup after seeing their defence of the title fall in a penalty shoot-out at Premier Division Hitchin Town in Monday’s semi-final tie.

On a mild but damp February evening at Top Field, the game opened at an even pace with both sides’ having a good look at each other with very little goalmouth action to report on.

The first opening coming for United in the 16th minute when Tom Smith collected the ball on the bye-line and rolled it back to Toby Little, his cross was met at the near post by Manny Duku, his glancing header drifting wide of the far post.

The Canaries then started to get control of more of the ball and of the very few chances that were created in the rest of the half, it was the home side who looked the more likely to break the deadlock.

A long punt forwards from home stopper Michael Johnson was knocked down to Robbie Burns, the striker firing wide from 20 yards before the best chance of the half saw Charlie Smith drive for goal from a tight angle just past the half hour mark, Danny Boness did well to palm the drive upwards before showing good agility to push the loose ball away diving to his right. The resultant corner kick was played out to Lucas Kirkpatrick, his goalbound pile-driver was pushed out by Boness and when the ball came back into the middle, Boness under pressure pushed the ball onto Brett Donnelly and it dropped wide.

As the half closed, another opening for Burns saw him shoot from range but this was easily swept up by Boness and the first half closed goalless.

The second half started with United replacing Ola Olajubu with Ismael Ehui and less than sixty seconds after coming on he collected a chipped Adam Cash pass, turned his marker and fired goalwards only for a defensive deflection to take the ball the wrong side of the post.

A minute later Cash again provided a good opening for United, this time his cross field pass sent Little through, his usually deadly left foot letting him down as he fired over from the edge of the box. Ten minutes into the half a neat back heel by Jonny McNamara for the home side set up a shooting chance for Connor Vincent but he also fired over the top.

Just before the hour mark the deadlock was broken and it was a record breaking 26th of the season for United’s Manny Duku as the striker rose to plant a firm header beyond Johnson from a Scott Donnelly free-kick.

Soon after Johnson kept his sides’ deficit to just a single goal as another Donnelly free-kick from the left was this time driven at goal, the Canaries ‘keeper doing well to push the ball wide.

Three minutes later though the home side drew level when a ball from a part cleared corner was played back in from the right, numerous attempts to clear came and went before Dan Webb forced the ball home past Boness.

The final twenty minutes passed without real incident, the only real effort on target being an eightieth minute effort from home substitute Hugo Logan that Boness dealt with comfortably, and so to penalty kicks we went.

Sadly for United only four kicks per team were required, the Canaries smashing home all four of theirs while Johnson dived to save from firstly Laste Dombaxe and then Duncan Culley as United exited the cup and can now concentrate on the priority which must be promotion with some big games coming up in the next few weeks.

Report by Kevin Watts.

Photos by Ray Peploe.

United Man of the Match: Tom Smith.

Hitchin Town
Hayes & Yeading United
Michael Johnson
Half-Time: 0-0

Full-Time: 1-1

HTFC win 4-2 on pens

Referee: Mr A Wilson

Attendance: 186


Hitchin Town:
Webb (68)

Hayes & Yeading United:
Duku (58)

Danny Boness
Kavan Cotter
Adam Cash
Ben Walster
Keano Robinson
Charlie Smith
Ola Olajubu
Dan Webb ©
© Tom Smith
Lewis Rolfe
Priestly Farquharson
Lucas Kirkpatrick
Toby Little
Connor Vincent
Scott Donnelly
Brett Donnelly
Manny Duku
Robbie Burns
Laste Dombaxe
Jonny McNamara
Duncan Culley
Tremayne Charles (for Donnelly, 70)
Ismael Ehui (for Olajubu, 46)
Hugo Logan (for McNamara, 70)
Danny May
Kevin Byrne
Kaan Fehmi (for Duku, 76)
Patrick Tshikala
Jack Roper
Josh Bickerstaff
Michael O'Neil
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy