Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

1st Team Match Report

FC Romania 2
Hayes & Yeading Utd 2

Hayes & Yeading came away with, what could be said, was a fortuitous draw in their FA Cup 2nd Qualifying Round tie at Essex Senior League side FC Romania.

Manager Paul Hughes shuffled his pack, as injuries and unavailability continued to hamper selection. Matthew Hall moved to right-back, with Orlando Rodrigues slotting in to the centre of the defence. On the plus side however, Josh Chamberlain returned in the number 10 role.

Everything seemed to be going to plan when the FC Romania goalkeeper Razvan Negrila fluffed his lines, clearing straight in to the path of Rohdell Gordon, who slotted home the chance in to an empty net.

However, United were to return the favour only eight minutes later, when a back pass from Spyros Mentis went straight to FC Romania winger Florin Pop, who slotted away the equaliser.

In the second half, United were soon behind as a superb shot from fully fifty yards caught Jack Smith off his line - whilst Jack was able to prevent the ball entering the net acrobatically, Toby Cleaver was the first to react and FC Romania were deservedly in the lead.

A moment of madness was to result in the game turning back in United's favour - FC Romania's Ion Costache raised his hands in the penalty box, and Spyros Mentis was sent tumbling right in front of referee Stuart Cheek.

A red card was immediately brandished, and despite some theatrics, no further players were booked. A penalty was awarded, and it was left to Manny Duku to stroke home the kick to ensure that this match ended up all level, and a Tuesday night replay - for the second consectutive round - was to be had.

Report by Andy Corbett.

United Man of the Match: Rohdell Gordon.

FC Romania
Hayes & Yeading United
Razvan Negrila
Half-Time: 1-1

Full-Time: 2-2

Referee: Mr S Cheek

Attendance: 168


FC Romania:
Pop (27)
Cleaver (50)

Hayes & Yeading United:
Gordon (11)
Duku (82 pen)
Jack Smith
Dinu Barcari
Matthew Hall
Cosmin Sandu
Tommy Cooney
Gabriel Chinea
Frankie Jones
Adrian Balsanu
Orlando Rodrigues
Sergiu Maximou
Harly Wise
George Taban ©
Andrew Ofosu
Toby Cleaver
© Spyros Mentis
Cosmin Anton
Rowan Vine
Florin Pop
Josh Chamberlain
Ion Costache
Rohdell Gordon
George Stroe
Ismael Ehui (for Vine, 59)
Augustin Voinea (for Anton, 83)
Luke Daley
Ionut Damila
Manny Duku (for Chamberlain, 59)
Constantin Arontaritei
Phil Appiah (for Wise, 46)
Vihout Andries
Joakim Ehui
Sergiu Pitaru (for Cleaver, 77)
Gurkan Gokmen
Tom Smith
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy