Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

1st Team Match Report

Bedford Town 0
Hayes & Yeading Utd

After Tuesday night’s cup success, Hayes & Yeading returned to league matters as they ensured back to back league victories, with a hard fought win away at Bedford Town.

Manager Paul Hughes made 6 changes to the side that defeated FC Romania in the game before with new signing Priestley Farquharson making his return to the club having made a solitary appearance last season at Hitchin.

United got off to the best start possible after only two minutes of play as a lofted cross to Rowan Vine was cleverly flicked on to Manny Duku, he in turn shrugged off his defender and calmly slotted the ball in to the back of the net past Bedford 'keeper Kyle Forster.

Despite the host’s sluggish start, moments later they did come close to finding an equaliser. Josh Oyibo had his effort at goal well saved by United keeper, Jack Smith and Ryan Auger followed up well to strike but he saw his effort brilliantly cleared off the line by Farquharson.

Just after a quarter of the game gone, United nearly doubled their lead with Duku showing his pace and skill on the left hand side only for his dangerous cross to be well cut out by James Peters. Soon after, another chance fell to the visitors as Joakim Ehui's powerful run led to him to firing at goal, but a quick reaction save from Forster was to prevent him scoring his first goal for the club.

With the visitor’s defence rarely troubled, Town did have an opportunity to halve the deficit however Oyibo blazed his shot just over Smith’s goal after finding himself in an excellent scoring position.

The final chance of the half fell to Duku as Vine did well to beat Tommy Hull just inside the Eagles box and fed the ball to Duku who couldn’t connect with a header despite being just yards out from goal.

The second half started off at a slow place with not many goal scoring opportunities created, however he hosts should have scored. Oyibo’s pass found Devante Stanley all alone on the edge of the box and his shot was saved by Smith with the rebound again brilliantly saved by United’s number one as Brad Woods-Garness followed-up. From the resulting corner, Auger picked out Oyibo who saw his header destined for the top corner, again kept out by Smith.

Just before the hour mark, United made Bedford pay for their missed chances as a long throw from Tommy Cooney released Duku wide on the left, United's top scorer dribbled his way into the penalty area and emphatically doubled United’s lead.

Minutes after the goal, Bedford had another effort of their own as Woods-Garness’s drive was easily saved by Smith who was determined to keep his clean sheet intact.

The pace of the game dropped after both managers made changes to their sides. The home side created pressure on the United backline but were unable to take advantage as Lee Roache saw an effort sail wide of the goal.

It was indeed Roache again with their final chance of the match as his shot flashed wide of Jack Smith’s goal.

Two minutes into stoppage time, United were awarded a penalty as Rohdell Gordon was bought down in the penalty area and it was Gordon himself who stepped up to take it. Seeing his initial effort saved by Forster, he was quickest to the loose ball to net the rebound and send the United supporters home delighted.

Report by Taz Phalora.

United Man of the Match: Jack Smith.

Bedford Town
Hayes & Yeading United
Kyle Forster
Half-Time: 0-1

Full-Time: 0-3

Referee: Mr R Evans

Attendance: 257


Bedford Town:

Hayes & Yeading United:
Duku (2 & 60)
Gordon (90+3)
Jack Smith
Paul Cooper
Priestly Farquharson
Matt Clifford
Tommy Cooney
Tommy Hull
Phil Appiah
Jemale McKenzie-Lowe
Orlando Rodrigues
James Peters ©
Harly Wise
Devante Stanley
Ismael Ehui
Ryan Auger
Frankie Jones
Leroy Griffiths
Manny Duku
Josh Oyibo
© Rowan Vine
Brad Woods-Garness
Joakim Ehui
Lee Roache (for McKenzie-Lowe, 63)
Tre Mitford (for Duku, 62)
Joel Norris (for Auger, 77)
Rohdell Gordon (for J Ehui, 71)
Ashton Grant (for Griffiths, 63)
Tairo Tavares
Dean Dummett
Omar Daidouh
George Brinkman
Alex Atkinson (for Appiah, 83)
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy