Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

Wealdstone 4
Hayes & Yeading Utd

Hayes and Yeading United's Ryman Youth League campaign got off to a disappointing start as they slipped to a defeat by four goals to two to a strong Wealdstone team.

The game didn't start well for United as Sean Giordnaina nipped in front of Mo Otuyo to finish Andre Lopes's low centre at the near post and score with the first attack. Stung by this, United took control and Max Hibbins crossed for Malachy McGovern to head goalwards but straight at Kai Watts who got rather fortunate having missed the cross. James Taylor then had a shot palmed away by Watts and McGovern just failed to connect properly with a dangerous Taylor cross before Dayo Adebayo cleverly worked some space in the area but shot into the side netting.

Wealdstone worked hard to switch the momentum and Lopes latched onto a low centre but fired straight at Otuyo from close range and Taylor was on hand to clear. Lopes then got free again on the left, but Otuyo was able to charge down his eventual shot. His deep cross then found Ali Meshan's head at the far post and his on target effort was parried behind by Otuyo.

United overcame this spell and began to create chances again, Lucas Sinclair latching onto Taylor's long cross and cleverly beating his man before firing right across the face of goal. At the other end, Otuyo was on hand to catch Ben Jones's looping header right under the crossbar. Rawn Seale then broke clear of the back line chasing a throughball but dragged his shot just wide.

United started the second half on the front foot and Harrison Livingstone sent a dangerous low ball into the box which Watts pushed out into McGovern's path, but under pressure from the on rushing defenders, he skewed his shot wide.

There were a number of delays starting on the hour as first of all, the referee picked up an injury and had to be replaced, and then Wealdstone 'keeper Watts got an injury in a challenge with Ethan Grant from which the United striker was only denied a goal by a last ditch clearance on the line by Josh Magan. United were to equalise from the resulting corner though as a dangerous centre caused havoc and Dan Edwards smashed the ball into a crowded six yard box with the ball ricocheting off McGovern and up into the roof of the net.

The lead was to last only five minutes. A Wealdstone free kick was blocked but the ball was worked back into the right channel where Meshan was unmarked and took his time before sliding the ball beyond Otuyo.

With five minutes left, United had a great chance to equalise as a corner was met by Leon Hague's header which bounced in front of goal and over the crossbar. Within a minute, Wealdstone seemed to have killed the game off as after brilliant defensive work from Hague to touch Giordnaina's low cross away from danger, Seale finished a mazy dribble in the penalty area with a low shot inside the far post.

However, both sides still had another goal in them as firstly for United Lucas Sinclair sent in a long free kick from the touch line which beat everyone and bounced in at the far post. Wealdstone then forced Otuyo into another save late on, a diving punch to deny Lopes direct from a free kick, but Stones also survived a long shot from Livingstone which floated just wide of the right hand post.

It wasn't to deny the hosts though, and they added another as Seale burst through the defensive line and lobbed Otuyo.

Report by Nick Bell.

United Man of the Match: James Taylor.

Hayes & Yeading United
Kai Watts
Half-Time: 1-0

Full-Time: 4-2

Referee: Mr S Rea

Attendance: 52


Giordnaina (2)
Meshan (69)
Seale (86 & 90+9)

Hayes & Yeading United:
McGovern (64)
Sinclair (90+2)
Mo Otuyo
Albie Booth
Max Hibbins
Tyrese Wolfe
Jack Raines
Josh Magan
© James Taylor
Ben Jones
Callum Keane
Harvie Gardiner
Dan Edwards
Sean Giordnaina
Ethan Grant
Ali Meshan
Dayo Adebayo
Rawn Seale
Harrison Livingstone
Andre Lopes
Malachy McGovern
Michael Panfura
Lucas Sinclair
Wayne Peters (for Panfura, 54)
Kieron Feltham
Callum Beltdami (for Meshan, 70)
Dom Gosemna
Marcus Brown (for Giordnaina, 88)
Alfie Wilson (for Raines, 88)
Stanley Anum
Leon Hague (for Adebayo, 46)
Jae Ru Kelly (for McGovern, 74)
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

Powered by FcTables.com
iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy