Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

1st Team Match Report

HYUFC Hayes & Yeading Utd 1
St Ives Town 0
HYUFC TV - Watch the highlights of this match here courtesy of FC Video
Today's highlights kindly sponsored by JibbaJabbaPods
With the team once again under the temporary stewardship of Tristan Lewis, a controversial late spot kick saw Hayes & Yeading pick up a much needed three points against fellow strugglers St Ives Town at Holloways Park on Tuesday evening.

United welcomed two new signings into the starting line-up. Central defender Joe Debayo, who had previously trialled with United during Phil Babb’s reign, joins from Dunstable Town and winger Jerson Dos Santos who had trialled for United this pre-season has arrived from Sevenoaks Town.

The game was slow getting going and it was not until the 19th minute that a clear cut opening was created. A high ball over the hesitant United defence to Ben Seymour-Shove left the striker with a view of goal only for him to weakly head straight at Louis Wells.

A minute later a Brian Evans throw-in was helped on by Melford Simpson to Cole Brown, the young winger shooting on the turn but too high to trouble Ollie Sutton in the Saints goal.

Around the half hour mark, United were fortunate when a low whipped in cross from the left was scythed over his own crossbar by Manny Adebowale.

The half was to close with a flurry of chances as Sam Humphreys went inches wide after meeting a low near post Brown corner and then at the other end Seymour-Shove chipped the ball forwards to Danny Kelly who appeared to control the ball with his arm before screwing his effort well wide of the target.

A final push before the break from United saw the impressive Olu Durojaiye pick out Simpson, the big man controlling the ball superbly on his chest and hitting a volley that was heading for the top corner only to be denied by a superb Sutton tip over.

The second half also started with chances at either end. Josh Dawkin for the Saints collected the ball on the right and reached the edge of the box before firing over and almost immediately a weak back-pass by Saints Liam McDevitt was chased by Lloyd Macklin but Sutton got there to kick clear just in the nick of time.

The visitors had a five minute purple patch soon after which the United defence stood firm against. Jordan Jarrold flashed a cross through the six yard box without a touch and then Adebowale twice threw himself in the way of shots from inside the box to protect Wells’ goal.

On the hour mark Sutton again denied United, this time the quick feet of debutant Jerson Dos Santos created a shooting chance that went through a defender only to by pushed away by the diving Saints ‘keeper.

With just under 20 minutes remaining, United finally made the breakthrough, albeit in controversial circumstances however after the non-award of a stonewall penalty on Saturday maybe the phrase “what goes around comes around” does ring true.

A long Wells punt was allowed to bounce and then headed over his own on-coming ‘keeper by McDevitt, Macklin gave chase as did the defender who appeared to get a foot on the ball but was adjudged by referee Morrison to have taken out Macklin in the process and a spot kick was awarded despite vehement protests from the visiting players. Durojaiye stepped up and calmly sent Sutton the wrong way from 12 yards.

Having gone ahead, United were in no mood to concede and the only two real chances that remained came the way of the home side. First Dos Santos fired across the face of Sutton’s goal from an acute angle going just wide of the far post and deep into stoppage time substitute Dylan Kearney drew another fine save from Sutton who dived fully down to his left to push the goal bound effort wide.

Report by Kevin Watts.

United Man of the Match: Jerson Dos Santos.

Print the Teamsheet: Here.

Hayes & Yeading United
St Ives Town
Louis Wells ©
Half-Time: 0-0

Full-Time: 1-0

Referee: Mr N Morrison

Attendance: 130


Hayes & Yeading United:
Durojaiye (73 pen)

St Ives Town:

Ollie Sutton
Brian Evans
Scott Sinclair
James Taylor
Mark Coulson
Olu Durojaiye
© Lee Chaffey
Manny Adebowale
Liam McDevitt
Joe Debayo
Jack Higgs
Jerson Dos Santos
Josh Dawkin
Sam Humphreys
Buster Harradine
Melford Simpson
Ben Seymour-Shove
Lloyd Macklin
Danny Kelly
Cole Brown
Jordan Jarrold
Dylan Kearney (for Brown, 61)
Harry O'Malley (for Sinclair, 76)
Mo Otuyo
Charlie De'Ath (for Coulson, 76)
Matt Sinclair (for Dos Santos, 87)
Tom McGowan
Colin Mugoya (for Macklin, 75)
Justin Leavers (for Jarrold, 79)
Ethan Grant
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

Powered by FcTables.com
iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy