Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

1st Team Match Report

Chippenham Town 3
Hayes & Yeading Utd

Caretaker manager, Tristan Lewis took charge of his last game before handing over the reins to joint managers Ritchie Hanlon and Paul Hughes. However, he was unable to prevent his United side from losing after going down 3-0 in an entertaining match at Hardenhuish Park, which resulted in two red cards for the visitors.

There were two changes to the side which were defeated 1-0 last weekend at home to Hitchin. New signings from Kings Langley, Josh Hutchinson and Ryan Hope took the places of Melford Simpson and Colin Mugoya.

In a game which started slowly and had chances far and few between, it was the hosts who had the majority of the possession but without testing Louis Wells in the United goal. The first chance of the game came of the way of the hosts with a cross from Chippenham’s Matt Smith which was met by a spectacular over head kick from David Pratt which just went wide. Moments later, it was the agile David Pratt who had an excellent opportunity to score but again, his shot didn’t test the United goalkeeper.

It took until the mid-way point of the half for Tristan Lewis’ men to have their first shot on target. The ball was played long to Cole Brown, who did well to flick the ball onto the advancing Lloyd Macklin, however he saw his strike saved by Darren Chitty in the Chippenham goal.

The home side continued to apply pressure to United’s defence and came close to opening the scoring with Andy Sandell’s cross, which was met by the head of David Pratt in the penalty area but his header sailed wide. 8 minutes later, the hosts had the best chance of the game with Matt Smith striking a vicious shot destined for the top corner, but was saved very well by Louis Wells.

The second half started off in the same way the first half had finished, at a lively pace with early pressure from Chippenham. However it was the visitors who had their best chance of the game. After a slip in defence from Chippenham’s Will Richards, Lloyd Macklin found himself one v one against the goalkeeper but failed to hit the target from close range.

On the 59th minute, the hosts did manage to find the opening goal of the game. Olu Durojaiye was booked for a foul on the edge of the box and the resulting free kick, taken by Matt Jones was headed in by Andy Sandell leaving Louis Wells with no chance.

It wasn’t until 15 minutes from the end that United had another chance to score. This time, Cole Brown found space in their penalty area yet managed to blaze the ball well over the bar.

A minute later, Chippenham were awarded a penalty after good work from David Pratt caused the United backline problems, being tripped in the penalty area by Louis Wells and the experienced goalkeeper received his second yellow card and was subsequently sent off. Young back up goalkeeper Mo Otoyo entered the field of play by coming on for Tom Gilbey. However, Otoyo was unable to prevent saving the penalty and was sent the wrong way by Andy Sandell on the 80th minute.

Moments later, more controversy took place after an off the ball incident involving Cole Brown and a Chippenham defender proceeding in Cole Brown receiving a straight red card.

In stoppage time, there was still time for Chippenham to score a third goal as Chris Allen’s corner wasn’t cleared properly which the ball rebounded to in form Andy Sandell who managed to score his third of the game after slotting home.

Report by Taz Phalora.

United Man of the Match: Ryan Hope.

Chippenham Town
Hayes & Yeading United
Darren Chitty
Half-Time: 0-0

Full-Time: 3-0

Referee: Mr S Oakey

Attendance: 391


Chippenham Town:
Sandell (59, 79 pen & 90+5)

Hayes & Yeading United:

© Louis Wells
Gary Horgan
Yassin Moutaouakil
Jon Beedon
Joe Debayo
Chris Allen
Olu Durojaiye
Greg Tindle ©
Manny Adebowale
Will Richards
Ryan Hope
Alex Ferguson
Jerson Dos Santos
Matt Smith
Cole Brown
David Pratt
Josh Hutchinson
Andy Sandell
Tom Gilbey
Matt Jones
Lloyd Macklin
Ryan Campbell (for Jones)
Colin Mugoya (for Dos Santos, 67)
Alan Griffin
Mo Otuyo (for Gilbey, 79)
Dan Bowman (for Smith, 64)
Dylan Kearney (for Hutchinson, 67)
Michael Pook
Matt Sinclair
Reeko Best
Sam Humphreys
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

Powered by FcTables.com
iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy