Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

HYUFC Hayes & Yeading Utd 3
Staines Town 2
Played at Bedfont Sports FC

Above Hayes & Yeading United Academy 2015-16. Photo by Carly Markham.

Two of Middlesex County’s top Academy sides squared off at Bedfont Sports on Monday evening in the Final of the Jeff Ritson Senior Youth Cup, Hayes & Yeading United overcoming Staines Town by the odd goal in five.

With the wind in their favour, it was the Swans who held the early balance of possession without really troubling Hugo Sobte in the United goal.

Controversy however was to hit the match in just the 9th minute. Dylan Kearney, Swans skipper Joe Noakes and ‘keeper Harry Churchill all went up for the same ball, the two Staines players appeared to collide in the air leaving Churchill poleaxed on the ground. Referee Andrew Herb let play continue, despite the apparent head injury to Churchill, Kearney recovered the ball and fired goalwards only to be denied by the deliberately outstretched hand of Noakes, the referee somewhat surprisingly waving away United’s appeals for what was a stonewall penalty.

The next chance again fell to United when Matt Sinclair set up a shooting chance for Jack Doyle who saw his low drive pushed around the post by Churchill.

Sobte was soon in action at the other end, saving from Nebay Haile before the deadlock was broken just before the break. Kearney played a free-kick in to the box that was met with a firm Cole Brown header, the ball struck the underside of the bar and dropped down into the net behind Churchill.

The second half was to be far more open than the second and United were stunned by the Swans who struck twice in three minutes early on.

Alfie Taylor planted a free-kick in to the United area, Sobte did well to block away an initial shot from Elliott Poley only for Haile to ram home the loose ball.

Two minutes later another free-kick was the catalyst for United going behind. The kick was delivered close to Sobte, the United ‘keeper losing his footing as he went to catch the ball, made a second grab for it but could not hold on and Poley tapped home from less than a yard.

On the hour mark United looked to have levelled only to be denied by the officials. Kearney worked a neat free-kick to Matt Sinclair who fired past Churchill and with the ball appearing to be well over the line it was hacked back out and referee and assistant allowed play to continue.

Haile almost had another within a minute but Sobte was out quickly and bravely to grab the ball from his toes while at the other end minutes later Kearney was denied by a smart save at the post by Churchill.

With six minutes remaining United finally got the equaliser they deserved, albeit with a big slice of luck as Sinclair’s free-kick from the right curled over all and sundry in the box before finding it’s way into the far corner of the Swans net.

Kearney twice troubled Churchill but was denied while in between these two efforts the Swans were reduced to tem men when full-back George Smith received a second yellow card and was dismissed.

Kearney then saw a corner kick glance away off the face of the crossbar before the game was won by United with virtually the last kick of the game. Ross Mckernan collected the ball and hit a 20 yard shot that Churchill spilled with Sinclair sharpest and quickest to the loose ball, tucking it home from close range.

Congratulations to all involved as United win the Jeff Ritson Cup for the third time in our short history.

Above: Proud Chairman Tony O'Driscoll with Hayes & Yeading's victorious Academy side.

Report by Kevin Watts.

MCFA Player of the Match: Matt Sinclair.

Hayes & Yeading United
Staines Town
Hugo Sobte
Half-Time: 1-0

Full-Time: 3-2

Referee: Mr A Herb

Attendance: 141


Hayes & Yeading United:
Brown (42)
Sinclair (84 & 90+4)

Staines Town:
Haile (49)
Poley (51)

Harry Churchill
James Smith
George Smith
Shamen Goswell
Charlie Brown
Curtis John-Cyrus
Elliott Poley
Colin Mugoya
© Joe Noakes
James Taylor
Callum McAllister
Jack Doyle
Lewis Collins
Ross Mckernan
Jeremiah Chong
Dylan Kearney ©
Nebay Haile
Matt Sinclair
Deshane Dalling
Cole Brown
Alfie Taylor
Ethan Grant
Josh Woodcock
Oliver Pritchard
Jack Vincent (for Brown, 75)
Nathan Mushidi
Emmanuel Mafuta (for Taylor, 79)
Javier Mato
Columbus Iyayi
Timon Khyne-Sam
Tariq Straker
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

Powered by FcTables.com
iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy