Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

1st Team Match Report

Eastbourne Borough 4
Hayes & Yeading Utd 0
HYUFC TV - Watch the highlights of this match here courtesy of FC Video
Manager Garry Haylock was forced in to two changes from the team that won a creditable replay on Sunday, as a result of the unavailability of loan striker Matt Jay and Elliot Benyon failing a late fitness test. Josh Scott returned up front along with Dylan Kearney, who joined Ismael Ehui in a front three. Jim Fenlon moved from the middle of defence to an unfamiliar wide right, as United lined up in a 3-4-3 formation.

With only three minutes on the clock, Eastbourne were awarded a free kick on the edge of the box. Gavin McCallum floated a ball in behind the United defence, leaving Ian Simpemba the easy task of slotting the ball past the helpless Lincoln.

However, United almost retaliated in the very next minute when a good cross from Mason Spence, who was playing on the left flank, found Dylan Kearney, but the returning United striker could only find the midriff of the grateful Borough ‘keeper, keeping the score at 1-0.

With a heavy wind in the faces of United, for the second game in succession, neither side could make any progress until a free kick played in from Jake Sheppard, who continued to impress after his man of the match performance on Saturday, found Adam Everitt in the centre, but his powerful left footed shot went the wrong side of the far post. United continued to press in search of an equaliser, and a Max Worsfold corner was struck powerfully towards the goal by Josh Scott, only for the crossbar to save the Borough goal.

Disaster then struck United on the 36th minute when a long hopeful cross from the United right found McCallum completely unmarked at the far post, leaving Dan Lincoln powerless to prevent the home side going two goals up.

It nearly got worse for the visitors minutes later when a powerful shot from Kane Haysman hit the base of the post, with the goal at his mercy.

The half-time talk led to a change in formation, back to a more familiar back four, with Jim Fenlon slotting in the centre of defence, and Dylan Kearney moving towards the right hand side of midfield. However, the cause was made even more difficult when a trip on the edge of the box saw an easy penalty award from Ian Cooper, the man in black. With no complaints from the United defence, it was left to Dan Lincoln to again save from the spot, but he was powerless to stop the rebound from Nathan Collier making the score 3-0 to the home side.

The 204 in attendance were in the main happy with the scoreline, and Eastbourne sat back allowing United to attack the Borough goal, but chances became few and far between. Controversy was not far away, however, when a clear punch to the face by Marvin Hamilton in the Borough defence, which left United striker Dylan Kearney requiring treatment, was seemingly unseen by all of the officials, and the Borough man appeared lucky to remain on the pitch.

The last twenty minutes were largely uneventful, until injury time, where a break down the left resulted in a shot from Nathaniel Pinney, which could only be helped in by the retreating Sheppard.

The final score flattered slightly, but with United finishing the game with no less than five players aged 18 and under, it was no real surprise to see Eastbourne Borough progress to a 1st Round tie against divisional rivals Hemel Hempstead Town.

Report by Andy Corbett.

United Man of the Match: Dylan Kearney.

Eastbourne Borough
Hayes & Yeading United
Lewis Carey

Half-Time: 2-0

Full-Time: 4-0

Referee: Mr I Cooper

Attendance: 204


Eastbourne Borough:
Simpemba (3)
McCallum (36)
Collier (47)
Pinney (90+2)

Hayes & Yeading United:

Dan Lincoln
Craig Stone
Jake Sheppard
Sam Beale
Max Worsfold
Gavin McCallum
Lewis Ferrell
Ian Simpemba ©
Jim Fenlon
Kiran Khinda-John
Colin Mugoya
Marvin Hamilton
Mason Spence
Nathan Collier
Adam Everitt ©
Nathaniel Pinney
Josh Scott
Elliott Romain
Dylan Kearney
Kane Haysman
Ismael Ehui
Liam Wilson
James Taylor
Josh Street (for McCallum, 81)
Rourke Pickford
Ryley Tate (for Khinda-John, 88)
Matt Sinclair (for I Ehui, 88)
Darren Lok (for Romain, 75)
Devante McKain (for Fenlon, 58)
Louis Rogers
Cole Brown (for Spence, 58)
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

Powered by FcTables.com
iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy