Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

HYUFC Hayes & Yeading Utd 12
Ashford Town (Mdx) 2
Hayes & Yeading’s Academy side continued their impressive start to the campaign with a 12-2 victory over Ashford Town (Middlesex) in the Lucas Fettes Youth Cup on Monday evening at Bedfont Sports despite going a goal down in just seven minutes.

With a couple of regulars rested it gave a chance to some of the fringe players to make an impression but things didn’t quite go to plan early on as in just the 7th minute Josiah Benjamin was dispossessed 25 yards out by Lovelace Owusu who promptly curled a shot from distance past George Upton who was on the edge of his box not expecting possession to be lost.

From that point on it was pretty much one way traffic although it took until the 22nd minute for United to draw level, before taking the lead about 45 seconds later. The equaliser came after a centre from the right cleared everybody in the middle before being controlled and slammed home at the far post by Conor Tierney.

Almost immediately from the re-start, and still in the 22nd minute United scored again in almost identical fashion, this time the finishing touch came from Matt Marques.

Tierney bagged another six minutes later after good work from Ben Slade and Matt Sinclair gave the striker an opening that he took well, sliding the ball into the bottom corner past Ashford ‘keeper Aidan Bishop.

Five minutes later he completed a 12 minute hat-trick when his header from a Marques centre was adjudged by the referee’s assistant to have crossed the line despite vehement protests from the Ashford players.

For the second time in the game another goal came within 60 seconds, this time a second for Ashford as the impressive Jahmaan Francis collected the ball just inside the United half and raced forwards before executing a perfect chip shot that sailed over Upton into the United net.

The home side were not yet finished though and two strikes from Matt Sinclair before the break gave United a four goal lead. His first came on 38 minutes, following his own blocked shot and the follow up from Tierney, the ball came back to Sinclair and he rolled it home.

His second came a minute before the interval when Shariff Wilson started a move down the right, he played the ball inside to Aaron Fetherston and his low centre picked out Tierney who set up Sinclair to fire into the bottom corner.

Within five minutes of the re-start Tierney had his fourth and United’s seventh. Kane Mason sent the ball down the left sideline to Sinclair, he crossed deep to Ben Slade who played the ball back into the middle where Tierney headed over Bishop into the far corner.

Ten minutes later Sinclair also had four on the night. His hat-trick came in the 51st minute in a move started by skipper Prince Mbengui who fed Sinclair who went on a dance past about three defenders before blasting the ball into the roof of the Ashford net. His fourth and United’s ninth came just before the hour mark when a free-kick from the right side cleared all and sundry in the box and nestled in the far corner.

Dylan Kearney and Mbengui both went close for United before Nat Mensah collected a Sinclair pass but despite beating Bishop, he saw his effort come back off the post.

Mensah did only have to wait a couple of minutes though before notching his sixth of the season when he collected a slide-rule throughball from Slade, rounded Bishop and slid the ball past the covering defender on the line.

Kearney added number eleven in the 85th minute having collected the ball 25 yards out he moved into the area before firing past the beleaguered Bishop.

Mason then hit the post before the final and twelfth strike came in stoppage time when Mbengui won the ball on the edge of the box, advanced on goal and slotted home.

Report by Kevin Watts.

United Man of the Match: Aaron Fetherston.

Hayes & Yeading United
Ashford Town (Middlesex)
George Upton
Half-Time: 6-2

Full-Time: 12-2

Referee: Mr P Savva

Attendance: 24


Hayes & Yeading United:
Tierney (22, 28, 33 & 49)
Marques (22)
Sinclair (38, 44, 51 & 59)
Mensah (76)
Kearney (85)
Mbengui (90+2)

Ashford Town (Middlesex):
Owusu (7)
Francis (34)

Aidan Bishop
Shariff Wilson
Jamie Walters
Kane Mason
© Gabrial Bediako
Aaron Fetherston
Patrick Ngwana-Joseph
Josiah Benjamin
Berkcan Blindr
Quinn Bredin
Brett Rayment
Ben Slade
Jahmaan Francis
Prince Mbengui ©
Charlie Bailey
Conor Tierney
Lovelace Owusu
Matt Sinclair
Dante Sorhaindo
Matt Marques
Anwar El Naeem
Dylan Kearney (for Marques, 63)
Luke Bersey (for Wilson, 46)
Nat Mensah (for Tierney, 63)
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

Powered by FcTables.com
iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy