Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

1st Team Match Report

Ebbsfleet United 1
Hayes & Yeading Utd 2

United ground out three points with a solid defensive display against big spending Ebbsfleet thanks to second half goals from Louis-Rae Beadle and Dan Wishart.

Hayes & Yeading made three changes from the team that suffered at the hands of Boreham Wood. Calum Kitscha returned between the sticks having recovered from illness picked up on England C duty, plus Louis-Rae Beadle and the returning Lewis Ferrell starting in place of Tom Collins and Vas Karagiannis.

Ebbsfleet started the game stronger and twice tested the United defence in the first fifteen minutes with dangerous free-kicks. The first real chance of the game came after 21 minutes and it fell to the hosts. Anthony Cook whipped in a cross which was met by a firm header from Charlie Sheringham that drew a fantastic one handed save from Calum Kitscha in the United goal. 

It was however to be a half of few chances with Ebbsfleet winning what was becoming a scrappy midfield battle although United finished the half strongly with Dean Inman heading over from a free-kick and Pat Cox drawing a save from former United stopper Brandon Hall after good work from Ashleigh Artwell. 

The match opened up after the break and Hayes & Yeading opened the scoring after fifty minutes. Artwell laid the the ball off to Beadle who curled it into the far corner of Hall's net. The sublime finish stunned the home crowd but only served to make the home side press higher up the pitch, determined to equalise. 

Hayes & Yeading kept it at one-nil with some backs to the wall defending over the next ten minutes as Ebbsfleet huffed and puffed but couldn't find a way to break through the resolute back-line. 

First Bricknell hit a volley just wide from the edge of the area, followed by two good Kitscha saves in three minutes. The first of these came as Chris Sessegnon played a long ball down the right which Sheringham ran on to before turning Dean Inman and firing low and hard which was well held by the United keeper.

The second was even better as Cook fired in a dangerous free-kick which Clark headed goalwards which Kitscha got a strong hand to. 

Ebbsfleet pressure continued with McMahon firing wide from the edge of the area after Kitscha punched clear a corner and Dean Rance hitting a strike low and hard which was well held by the England C International. 

In the 78th minute the visitors grabbed a second against the run of play. Beadle, who looked dangerous whenever he received the ball, laid it off to Wishart who ran unchallenged 25 yards to the edge of the area before hitting a shot low and hard across Hall which hit the inside of the post before rolling over the line, sparking scenes of jubilation from the visiting supporters. 

This stunned Ebbsfleet and it was Wishart again who nearly extended United's lead after a free-kick was rolled to him and he turned onto his left and hit a curling shot that forced Hall into a save. 

Fleet did get one back in the 84th minute to ensure a nervy finale for the travelling fans. Daryl McMahon whipped in yet another troubling free-kick, which United this time failed to clear and the ball was deflected past Kitscha by Matt Ruby under strong pressure from Anthony Acheampong. 

Fleet had one final chance in stoppage time when Cook fired wide after a goalmouth scramble, but Phil Babb's side repelled the Fleet pressure and clung on for a well deserved three points. 

Report by Daniel Kerr.

Photos by Ray Peploe.

United Man of the Match: Calum Kitscha.

Ebbsfleet United
Hayes & Yeading United
Brandon Hall
Half-Time: 0-0

Full-Time: 1-2

Referee: Mr C Pollard

Attendance: 891


Ebbsfleet United:
Ruby (84 own goal)

Hayes & Yeading United:
Beadle (50)
Wishart (78)
Calum Kitscha
Chris Sessegnon
De'Reece Vanderhyde
Aiden Palmer
Adam Everitt
Daryl McMahon
Lewis Ferrell
Anthony Acheampong
Matt Ruby
Kenny Clark ©
Dean Inman
Matt Johnson
Ashleigh Artwell
Dean Rance
© Matty Harriott
Charlie Sheringham
Pat Cox
Billy Bricknell
Louis-Rae Beadle
Anthony Cook
Dan Wishart
Shane Huke
Rhys Murrell-Williamson
Preston Edwards
Tom Collins (for Cox, 74)
Michael Corcoran
Chimdi Akubuine (for Beadle, 90+1)
Dean Pooley
Dylan Kearney
Alex Osborn (for Johnson, 68)
Delroy Preddie
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

Powered by FcTables.com
iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy