Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

1st Team Match Report

HYUFC Hayes & Yeading Utd 2
Bognor Regis Town 1
HYUFC TV - Watch the highlights of this match here courtesy of FC Video
Hayes & Yeading United progressed to the 1st round proper of this seasons FA Trophy after a late Adam Everitt volley decided the tie against Bognor Regis Town in United's favour at Kingfield this afternoon.

Manager Phil Babb made two changes to the United starting line-up as both newly arrived loanee's Matty Harriott and Louis Dennis came into the side in place of Anthony Furlonge who was away on International duty with the Cyprus under-21 side and Tom Bird who dropped to the bench.

Things didn't start off well for United when the visitors took an eleventh minutes lead that was a little against the run of play. Kane Wills' corner from the left was punched in the air by an under pressure Jamie Young, the ball dropped to Ben Godfrey in the six yard box and despite Jack Mills blocking his initial effort on the line, the Rocks striker forced the ball home at the second attempt.

United were quickly back at the Rocks and were level within nine minutes. Dagenham loanee Louis Dennis collected a Luke Williams pass down the right flank, his cross being met in the centre by Jake Reid who steered his header perfectly inside the far post giving Rocks keeper Mark Zawadski no chance.

Young was alert minutes later when Godfrey fired in a shot from outside the right side of the United box when a cross looked the obvious option, the United keeper doing well to push the effort wide. The Rocks also went close around the half hour mark when a long punt into the box was knocked down to Doug Tuck who was inches wide from just outside the United area.

Having lost skipper Dean Inman to injury just before the break, United could have gone in ahead when Reid cut out a sloppy square pass by Stuart Axten, his shot being gathered at the second attempt by a grateful Zawadski.

Both sides had good chances to break the deadlock soon after the break. Matty Harriott latched onto a partially cleared cross from the left, forcing Zawadski to palm his effort onto the post and shortly afterwards at the other end Young did well to tip over a Terry Dodd free-kick struck from the corner of the area.

Chances continued to be made at both ends. Williams sent Dennis away, his shot being saved by Zawadski before another Rocks free-kick caused problems for United, this time Godfrey's shot curled just wide of the United goal.

Frankie Merrifield, who had probably his best game in a United shirt, thrice went close within five minutes. Reid chested down a high ball to the midfielder whose first time strike went agonisingly the wrong side of the post and then a Williams free-kick was collected in the box by Merrifield who turned past a defender and beat Zawadski only for his shot to come back off the Rocks crossbar. The third and best strike of all came from fully 25 yards after Zawadski had punched out a Williams free-kick, Merrifield hit a dipping volley that Zawadski did well to turn over.

This did turn out to be the catalyst for the winning goal however as the resultant Williams corner was cleared as far as Merrifield who chipped the ball back into the box to Adam Everitt, the defender controlling the ball on his thigh and hitting a sweet volley on the turn that again gave Zawadski no chance.

With little action in either box in the remainder of the game, it is United who take their place in Monday's draw for the first round proper of the FA Trophy as we wish Bognor all the best for the rest of the campaign.

Report by Kevin Watts.

Photos by Ray Peploe.

United Man of the Match: Frankie Merrifield.

Print the Teamsheet: Here.

Hayes & Yeading United
Bognor Regis Town
Jamie Young
Half-Time: 1-1

Full-Time: 2-1

Referee: Mr N Lugg

Attendance: 250


Hayes & Yeading United:
Reid (20)
Everitt (81)

Bognor Regis Town:
Godfrey (11)

Mark Zawadski
Jack Mills
Alex Malins
Adam Everitt
James Crane
Matty Harriott
Louis John
Charlie Wassmer
Stuart Axten
Dean Inman ©
Craig Robson
Louie Soares
Arron Hopkinson
Frankie Merrifield
© Kane Wills
Jake Reid
Terry Dodd
Luke Williams
Ben Godfrey
Louis Dennis
Doug Tuck
Kamaron English (for Dennis, 74)
Scott Chamberlain (for Dodd, 89)
Geoff Mitchell (for Harriott, 64)
Dan Sackman
Tom Bird (for Inman, 41)
Ollie Pearce (for Godfrey, 72)
Luke Bersey
Michael Weir
Mikhael Jaimez-Ruiz
Anthony Ender
Pitching in | Partners with Southern Football League

League Sponsors

Joma Greenfields FWP Architecture

League Table

Powered by FcTables.com
iZedIT Computer Solutions Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy