Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

Hayes & Yeading United 5
Camberley Town
Half-Time: 4-2 Referee: Mr S Gudge

A nine goal thriller was edged by Hayes & Yeading United thanks to Omar Risari’s late winner, a goal which ended Camberley Town’s 100% league record.

United started brightly with Daniel Blackwood shooting at goal from Jack Todd’s lay off only for Nick Howe to be well positioned to collect.

However, Camberley asserted their authority on the game and fired a warning shot when Steve Smith raced onto Perry Hegarty’s long ball and Craig Leslie had to be alert to narrow the angle down.

The visitors deservedly took the lead on 16 minutes when the race to Jack Riggs’ throughball was won by Luke Orchard who beat the onrushing Leslie to fire into the bottom corner.

Minutes later it was 2-0 when Smith headed in Stacy Thripp’s cross but United hit back quickly, Nathan Webb firing in from the edge of the area after good work by Todd and Daniel Wishart.

Camberley immediately went back on the attack and Smith burst clear of the United defence, only to shoot weakly straight at Leslie.

On the half hour, Daniel Blackwood had his own one on one situation, his shot was blocked by Howe who completed a fine double save from Todd’s follow up.

From the resulting corner, the Camberley keeper had no answer to Todd’s piledriver after Mark Goodman’s delivery was only partially cleared.

United completed a remarkable turnaround seven minutes later when Wishart took on both Orchard and Howe before rolling the ball into the empty net and after Wishart’s 30 yard shot was deflected narrowly wide by Scott Pickles, a Todd corner found the head of the onrushing Charlie Wassmer who powered the ball home.

There was still time before the interval for Blackwood to race clear of the defence once again and although he rolled the ball back to Wishart for an easy tap in, inexplicably the assistant referee deemed it a forward pass and gave an offside decision.

Even then Goodman had a shot blocked by Howe and Leslie spilt a Jack Keenan free kick before smothering the loose ball before the half time whistle blew.

The start of the second half was a little less frenetic although an early Todd cutback to Blackwood almost brought another United goal but his sidefooted shot rolled inches wide.

Camberley responded when Smith headed a Gavin Muir corner against the bar and after Goodman was unlucky to find the sidenetting after combining well with Todd, Keenan decided to try his luck from long range and twice narrowly missed out on a goal.

Camberley found a way back into the game on 66 minutes when another Muir corner was bundled in amidst a bevy of players in the six yard box, with United defender James Nortey-Silke appearing to get the inadvertent but decisive touch past his own keeper.

This goal visibly lifted the visitors and Joe Wilson forced Leslie into a fine diving save before foiling the left sided player again from long range. In a quick counter attack, United substitute Omar Risari cut in from the left wing and tested Howe’s handling with a shot from an acute angle.

Camberley got the equaliser they craved when Wilson’s low centre was controlled by Jordon Coleman who fired his shot into the bottom corner through a crowded penalty area.

Orchard almost found a winner when Leslie tipped his rising shot wide but it was United who were to claim victory with three minutes remaining. Goodman got away on the left and his low centre was met by Wishart, although he got around Howe, he was off balance so he laid the ball off to Risari who controlled it and finished despite the despairing attempt to keep the ball out by Darren Redwood on the goal line.

Report by Nick Bell.

Website United Man of the Match: Nathan Webb.

Hayes & Yeading United Camberley Town
1 Craig Leslie   1 Nick Howe  
2 James Nortey-Silke   2 Perry Hegarty  
3 Matt Loomes   3 Stacy Thripp  
4 Isaac Bonket   4 Scott Pickles  
5 Charlie Wassmer   5 Darren Redwood  
6 Jake Edmunds   6 Luke Orchard  
7 Mark Goodman   7 Jack Keenan  
8 Nathan Webb   8 Steve Smith  
9 Daniel Blackwood   9 Joe Wilson  
10 Daniel Wishart   10 Keaton Landess  
11 Jack Todd   11 Jake Riggs  
12 Adam Tizroutine   12 Gavin Muir for 3 (46)
14 Michael Obiri-Darko   14 Charlie Oakley for 11 (46)
15 Sonny Evans for 9 (61) 15 Steve White  
16 Omar Risari for 6 (46) 17 Jordan Coleman for 8 (75)
Webb (24), Todd (30), Wishart (37),
Wassmer (41), Risari (87).
Orchard (16), Smith (18),
Nortey-Silke (66 own goal), Coleman (82).