Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

Rayners Lane 1
Hayes & Yeading United
(At Harrow Borough FC)

Colin Davis' Hayes & Yeading United reserve side, starting the game with no players over the age of 19, fired their way to a comfortable victory against Rayners Lane's first XI at Harrow Borough's Earlsmead ground in this Middlesex Premier Cup quarter-final tie.

Rayners Lane were quick out of the blocks and could have taken the lead after just 26 seconds when the ball was played left to Mark Jimmy who tried his luck from 18 yards only to be denied by a block from Charlie Wassmer that saw the shot go wide.

United almost immediately began to take control of proceedings and on three minutes a superb Ray Curtis cross from the left was met on the volley by emergency striker Mo Dikuiza but Lane's keeper Dominic Cassells gathered comfortably. Dikuiza then provided a lay off that saw Dan Mehmet try his luck from 20 yards but again Cassells was well placed to save.

Just a couple of minutes later the deadlock was broken. Josh Andrew outpaced Grant Ambridge on the right flank before crossing to Scott Orphanou who watched as his first time effort wrong footed Cassells and trickled into the corner of the net. The half hour mark had just passed when the lead was doubled as Ian Jimmy tripped Orphanou in the area and a penalty was awarded. Wassmer stepped up and coolly fired into the bottom corner.

Rayners Lane had a chance to reduce the arrears just before the break when Darren Gardiner fed George Benn but his shot from the edge of the area was wide of the target. A couple of seconds into stoppage time the lead increased to three when Wassmer flicked on a Fayed corner that Aga Briandt controlled before firing into the bottom corner of Cassells net.

Four minutes were all that was needed of the second half for United to go four ahead. Dikuiza sent Andrew away on the right, he cut into the area and fired across Cassells, his shot coming back off the post and being bundled home by Orphanou who had the presence of mind to follow the ball in.

Rayners Lane created a couple of good openings that could have seen them reduce the arrears shortly afterwards. A goalmouth scramble saw efforts from Gardiner and Middleton blocked by Wassmer and Briandt respectively and Briandt was again on hand to deny Carlos Cambeiro who had been put through on goal only to be denied by a chasing tackle from the United defender.

Number five came just after the hour mark when Fayed pounced on a loose ball and fired a shot that, with a slight deflection, flew into the top corner of Cassells goal. Minutes later Fayed could, and maybe should, have had a second. Andrew broke into the box, he was denied by the keepers legs and when Dikuiza set up Fayed a goal looked a good bet but he fired wide of the target.

Lane scored what was only ever going to be a consolation goal on 66 minutes when substitute Dominic Franklin latched on to the ball in the United area and neatly chipped over the advancing Alex Tokarczyk who had been almost redundant for the previous hour.

The last action of the game came on 77 minutes and resulted in goal number six for United. Fayed and Orphanou combined to set up Mehmet who beat his marker before firing past Cassells into the Rayners Lane net to round off an excellent result for United's youthful reserve side.

Report by Kevin Watts.

Website United Man of the Match: Aga Briandt.

Rayners Lane Hayes & Yeading United
1 Dominic Cassells   1 Alex Tokarczyk  
2 Mark Smith   2 Jamie Lindsay  
3 Grant Ambridge   3 Ray Curtis Captain
4 Tim Nye   4 Malakai Bulley  
5 Ian Jimmy Captain 5 Aga Briandt  
6 Mark Middleton   6 Charlie Wassmer  
7 James Waterhouse   7 Josh Andrew  
8 Darren Gardiner   8 Dan Mehmet  
9 Carlos Cambeiro   9 Scott Orphanou  
10 George Benn   10 Mohammed Dikuiza  
11 Mark Jimmy   11 Ollie Fayed  
12 Neil Fyfield for 10 (52) 12 Will Joseph for 4 (52)
14 Dominic Franklin for 11 (52) 14 Abdula Nsubuga  
15 Michael Berbira   15 -  
16 Paul Mitchell for 3 (62) 16 Darron Wilkinson  
Franklin (66).

Orphanou (19, 49), Wassmer (31 pen),
Briandt (45+1), Fayed (61), Mehmet (77).