Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

Harrow Borough 2
Hayes & Yeading United

Colin Davis’s Hayes & Yeading reserve side made it 15 wins from their 18 league games courtesy of a come from behind victory at Harrow Borough in their final game of a season that saw them win their division by a 13 point margin.

CD gave a debut to experienced former Wycombe Wanderers keeper Steve Williams and he was in action as early as the 7th minute as he dived sharply to push an Aaron Cato header around the post.

20 minutes had passed before United got a sight of the Borough goal, Jake Lovell turning his marker on the edge of the box only to see his shot tipped over by Harrow keeper Richard McCabe. Borough were soon pressurising the United goal again though, Cato advancing into the area and hitting a shot that took a deflection off Jack Pattison before being kept out by a fine Williams block.

The hosts again nearly took the lead shortly afterwards when Jonathan Constant outpaced Charlie Wassmer and with Williams off his line tried to lob him but his effort cleared the crossbar. At the other end Lovell again found himself just inside the Borough area but he dragged his shot across the face of goal.

Nine minutes before the break Harrow opened the scoring when Williams went to clear a back pass only to miss-kick the ball straight to Constant who had the simple task of rolling it into the empty net.

United’s only effort before the break came from an audacious Ray Curtis drive from more than 35 yards that looked to be heading for the top corner but for a confident McCabe catch.

CD was forced into a half time change with Josh Andrew replacing the injured Esmond James and the half could not have started any worse as Borough took just 23 seconds to find the net again. Cato and Charles Ball combining on the right to set up Constant who fired into the bottom corner from 18 yards.

It could have been worse a couple of minutes later when a corner was headed out as far as Kwasi Frempong, his 20 yard shot being tipped over by Williams. The resultant corner also caused a problem when the ball fell to Cato in the six yard box, his shot being superbly blocked by Scott Orphanou.

This let off was the catalyst that finally seemed to wake United up, Lovell controlled a long upfield ball, turned Daryl Campbell-Grimshaw twice only to have his final effort blocked away for a corner by the defender.

United’s first was soon to come though, Charles Adeyemi raced onto a throughball and was sent tumbling by McCabe giving the referee no option but to award a penalty. Mo Dikuiza stepped up and easily beat McCabe to put United back in the hunt.

United were now firmly in charge, Wassmer was just too high on meeting an Orphanou free-kick and two minutes later the scores were level. A Curtis throw was flicked on to Lovell who neatly rolled it past the on-coming McCabe.

Constant almost netted himself a hat-trick but he was just off target for the home side before McCabe’s attempted clearance was charged down by Andrew with the ball going wide off the Borough keeper’s right hand post. Just a minute later though United had the lead for the first time in the game, Curtis playing the ball to Charles Adeyemi who found Orphanou via a neat Lovell lay off, and Orphanou himself did the rest, firing across McCabe into the far corner.

Ten minutes later Orphanou was to net his 11th of the season, Andrew raced away on the left and cut the ball back to Malakai Bulley, he fed the ball right to Orphanou who cut inside his marker before beating McCabe from close range.

Report by Kevin Watts.

Website United Man of the Match: Scott Orphanou.

Harrow Borough Hayes & Yeading United
1 Richard McCabe   1 Steve Williams  
14 Chase Casson   2 Jack Pattison  
3 Daryl Campbell-Grimshaw   3 Ray Curtis Captain
4 Kwasi Frempong Captain 4 Mohammed Dikuiza  
5 Simon Dahl   5 Jamie Lindsay  
6 Jasper Owen   6 Charlie Wassmer  
7 Jonathan Constant   7 Esmond James  
8 James Fraser   8 Malakai Bulley  
9 Charles Ball   9 Charles Adeyemi  
10 Aaron Cato   10 Jake Lovell  
11 Warren Whitely   11 Scott Orphanou  
12 Pepe Sadiki for 11 (72) 12 -  
15 Thomas Mustapha   14 Henry Attu for 10 (83)
16 Nick Salapatas for 10 (85) 15 Aga Briandt for 8 (89)
17 Reece Rake for 14 (80) 16 Josh Andrew for 7 (46)
18 -   17 -  
Constant (36, 46).

Dikuiza (54 pen), Lovell (61), Orphanou (71, 81).