Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

Fisher Athletic 0
Hayes & Yeading United
Half-Time: 0-2 Referee: Mr L Venamore Attendance: 216

Hayes & Yeading United cemented fourth place with a comfortable 5-0 victory at Champion Hill against a beleaguered Fisher Athletic side whose very future appears to lie with the courts next week, we can only wish them well in their endeavors to turn the tide.

Manager Garry Haylock again took the chance to rest a couple of his regular starters with Dale Binns and Ram Marwa on the bench. United started at a pace and within the first eleven minutes effectively had the game won.

Just four minutes were on the watch when a combination of passes between Will Hendry and Josh Scott set up a chance for Danny Allen-Page, the defender playing in midfield this afternoon firing wide from the edge of the area. The lead was only seconds away though as Steven Gregory and Hendry combined to send Scott through on goal, United's top scorer firing into the bottom corner from the edge of the area.

Minutes later Gary MacDonald went close after Steve Perkins had headed a Toby Little corner back into the mix and then Little himself got his name on the scoresheet when he powerfully headed home an Allen-Page cross at the far post (pictured right). It was 31 minutes before the home side had what was to be their only effort on target of the whole game, Seb Schobergh trying his luck from 35 yards, giving Delroy Preddie a work out as he gathered at the foot of the post.

The remainder of the half was United versus keeper Stuart Robinson. Hendry won possession and found Scott who in turn sent Little through but he fired wide with just Robinson to beat, next up was Scott himself who beat the wall with a free-kick that Robinson scrambled around the post. Robinson's again saved two minutes later when he reacted well to tip over after a Gregory shot was deliberately deflected goalwards by Perkins. His best was still to come though, Gary MacDonald played a free-kick in from the left, Scott met it perfectly with a diving header only for Robinson to touch his effort around the post.

Still United were not finished and Scott should have netted number 25 when he took the ball from Louis Hollingsworth just outside the area and advanced on Robinson before firing wide of the target.

The second half was to start exactly the same as the first with United finding the net twice in the first eleven minutes. First to add his name to the scoresheet was Steven Gregory who followed up after Perkins header had come back off the bar. Gregory then went close again with a diving header before Little scored a solo goal by racing past Jamie Lovegrove on the left before beating the advancing Robinson.

A ten minute wait ensued before number five hit the back of the net, Perkins rising to head home a MacDonald free-kick that saw the ball go in off the far post with Robinson well beaten (pictured below).

With the home side creating nothing at all, the final 20 minutes of the game saw United create five more clear cut chances. Allen-Page miss-hit a cross from the right that Robinson had to touch around his own post and then Scott Fitzgerald broke down the right side and crossed to fellow sub Ram Marwa but he was off target from ten yards out.

Next to play creator was a third substitute in the shape of Dale Binns who sped past Lovegrove before firing a hard cross that Allen-Page did well to get his head to but could not guide goalwards. In stoppage time Fitzgerald was put clean through only to be denied by Robinson and the ball was soon back in the Fisher area, Allen-Page's shot being blocked and the ball eventually finding it's way to Binns but his shot was deflected onto the crossbar before being hacked clear.

Report by Kevin Watts. Photos by Ray Peploe.

Match Highlights available at www.fcvideo.co.uk

Website United Man of the Match: Toby Little.

Fisher Athletic Hayes & Yeading United
1 Stuart Robinson   1 Delroy Preddie  
2 Manny Sackey   2 Danny Allen-Page  
3 Jamie Lovegrove Captain 3 Gary MacDonald  
4 Alex Bentley   4 Tom Cadmore Captain
5 Louis Hollingsworth   5 Matt Ruby  
6 Anthony Charlton   6 James Mulley  
7 Seb Schoburgh   7 Steve Perkins  
8 Nicky Greene   8 Steven Gregory  
9 Careb Kamara-Taylor   9 Josh Scott  
10 John Raus   10 Will Hendry  
11 Carl Murray-Price   11 Toby Little  
12 Wayne Grant for 6 (61) 12 Dale Binns for 7 (69)
14 Gary Wharton for 11 (53) 14 Staforde Palmer  
15 Nick Carter   15 Scott Fitzgerald for 9 (57)
16 Carl Gibbs for 7 (53) 16 Ram Marwa for 5 (69)
17 Hawell Awotwe   21 Aaron Howe  

Scott (6), Little (11, 56),
Gregory (48), Perkins (66).