Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

Hayes & Yeading United 2
Dorchester Town 1
Half-Time: 2-1 Referee: Mr I Rathbone Attendance: 184

Hayes & Yeading United finally advanced the win column in 2009 with a hard fought victory against Dorchester Town that saw us claim our first League "double" of the season.

The game started at quite a pace with all three goals coming in the space of just six minutes with what to become the decider hitting the net with just 18 minutes played. United were first to show forwards motion but Josh Scott's run up the middle was thwarted by a Kevin Hill interception that saw the strikers effort blocked.

On 13 minutes the goalfest started, but not in a good way for United as the back four were caught square which allowed Ryan Moss to run through onto a Darren Watts pass from the middle of the park before lofting a perfect shot over the advancing Aaron Howe and into the United net. It took Hayes & Yeading just two minutes to level the game when James Mulley set off on a surging run from halfway, played a neat exchange with Will Hendry before slipping the ball inside to Omari Coleman who finished from close range despite the Magpies vehement claims of offside.

It was not long before the ball was in the Magpies net once again, three minutes to be exact. A United ball into the area fell to Roy O'Brien, his attempted clearance was charged down by Ram Marwa who showed great speed of thought to pounce on the loose ball, hold off O'Brien's challenge and slide it past keeper Gareth Stewart.

After this flurry of goals action highlights were few and far between for the rest of the half. Marwa set up Hendry but his low drive from just outside the box was wide of Stewart's goal and just a minute remained when Jamie Mudge raced away on the left side before cutting into the area and firing against the diving Howe from a very tight angle, much to the annoyance of strike partner Moss who was well placed for a centre.

While no side really dominated the second half, the Magpies will probably feel unlucky not to have taken something back to Dorset as they did carve out the better openings including a Mark Jermyn header that came back off the crossbar.

The Magpies had three chances to pull level within ten minutes of the restart. A Watts miss hit shot fell to Moss but he volleyed over from 12 yards out, within seconds Mudge found space on the edge of the area on two occasions. His first effort was across the face of goal and wide and the second saw him strike weakly at Howe having latched onto a weak Marwa pass.

The Magpies continued to press for the elusive equaliser, Mitch Nicholson fired over from a free-kick on the edge of the area and then the same player received a Mudge pass but saw Howe save at the foot of the upright. Fourteen minutes only remained when United finally forced Stewart into action, Coleman controlled a long Howe punt before feeding Hendry who saw Stewart save his shot.

With just nine minutes left on the referee's watch Nicholson found Mudge in the United area, his initial effort was spilled by Howe but the keeper showed excellent reactions to block away Mudge's second effort. Two minutes later it was the woodwork that saved United when a corner on the right found an unmarked Gary Bowles just inside the area, his looping header appeared to be going over but hit the face of Howe's bar before being scrambled to safety.

Despite six minutes of stoppage time being played United held on for that elusive victory that hopefully will spur another run to keep the play off push in sight.

Report by Kevin Watts. Photos by Ray Peploe.

Match Highlights available at www.fcvideo.co.uk

Website United Man of the Match: Will Hendry.

Hayes & Yeading United Dorchester Town
1 Aaron Howe   1 Gareth Stewart  
2 Danny Allen-Page   2 Mark Jermyn  
3 Peter Collins   3 Ronayne Marsh-Brown  
4 Tom Cadmore Captain 4 Danny Clay  
5 Matt Ruby   5 Roy O'Brien  
6 Ram Marwa   6 Kevin Hill Captain
7 Steve Perkins   7 Darren Watts  
8 James Mulley   8 Jamie Mudge  
9 Omari Coleman   9 Ryan Moss  
10 Will Hendry   10 Wes Fogden  
11 Josh Scott   11 Nick Crittenden  
12 Staforde Palmer for 2 (73) 12 Mitch Nicholson for 11 (62)
14 Kieran Knight for 9 (84) 14 Gary Bowles for 5 (46)
15 Esmond James   15 Patrece Liburd  
16 Jake Lovell   16 Nathan Peprah-Annan  
21 Delroy Preddie   17 Jake Smeeton for 9 (77)
Coleman (15), Marwa (18).
Moss (13).