Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

Bromley 1
Hayes & Yeading United
Half-Time: 1-0 Referee: Mr J Busby Attendance: 317

Despite dominating the game at Hayes Lane United were unable to puncture a stubborn and resolute Bromley side who took all three points courtesy of a first half Warren McBean strike that wrong footed Delroy Preddie.

The first shot in anger came from the home side when Luke I’Anson hit a 25 yard volley that Matt Ruby did well to block before it could trouble Preddie in the United goal.

Hayes & Yeading were soon on the march and on 15 minutes Scott Fitzgerald found space on the right to cross but Will Hendry’s touch was too faint and could not divert the ball into the net. Just two minutes later a free-kick on the edge of the area saw Josh Scott clear the wall but keeper Gareth Williams was on hand to tip his effort over the bar. Just a few minutes later United were awarded another free-kick, Hendry picked out skipper Tom Cadmore but his header was wide of the target.

United then got hit with a sucker punch. Williams fired a goal kick to the left wing, Nic McDonnell got the perfect flick on to Ryan Hall who advanced before finding McBean in the centre. The striker turned his marker and fired goal wards wrong footing Preddie, possibly due to a deflection on the way.

Having gone behind, United were awarded another free-kick just outside the area, while another Scott effort looked favourite, this time Hendry tried a cheeky effort towards the near post but with Williams scrambling the ball was an inch wide of the target.

Seven minutes from the break the home side could have doubled their advantage. Ashley-Paul Robinson met the ball perfectly and it appeared to be heading into the top corner of the United net before Preddie dived full stretch to tip it over the bar.

As we entered stoppage time in the first half United finally got the ball in the net when Fitzgerald ran in at the far post to touch home a Scott cross-come shot only to be denied by the linesman’s flag who adjudged him to be offside.

The second half was to see United throw everything at the Lillywhites but we could find no passage through the home sides’ defensive wall. Scott saw a 20 yard skidder well held by Williams before the same combination came forth again after Hendry had ploughed through to set up Scott for a shot that Williams again kept at bay.

Kieran Knight, who had replaced an increasingly frustrated Fitzgerald, was soon in the action. The striker played a neat one-two with Ram Marwa but his shot from just outside the box was too high to trouble Williams. Less than twenty minutes remained when the Lillywhites broke away and would have sealed the game but for an excellent Cadmore interception at the far post where he vitally blocked a drive from McDonnell after Robinson had broke from his own half to cross.

Less than a minute later United created possibly their best chance of the half. Knight played a neat ball past the Bromley defence to the on-coming Marwa only to see the United man denied by Williams who was off his line at speed to close down and block Marwa’s effort.

Garry Haylock then injected new width to the side with the introduction of Esmond James and Toby Little in an attempt to break down the Bromley defence. Hendry then set up Knight but his left footed strike from 20 yards dipped just over the bar and five minutes later a Matt Ruby cross from deep saw Scott out jump Jerrome Sobers but he could not keep his header on target.

The last chance came a minute from the end, James crossing from the right to Knight, sadly the striker was well off target with his header and it was a fifth League defeat for United

Report by Kevin Watts.

Match Highlights available at www.fcvideo.co.uk

Website United Man of the Match: Will Hendry.

Bromley Hayes & Yeading United
1 Gareth Williams   1 Delroy Preddie  
2 Liam Norval   2 Danny Allen-Page  
3 Ryan Dolby   3 Ronnie Bull  
4 Moses Swaibu   4 Tom Cadmore Captain
5 Jerrome Sobers   5 Matt Ruby  
6 Rob Gillman Captain 6 Ram Marwa  
7 Ashley-Paul Robinson   7 James Mulley  
8 Luke I'Anson   8 Steven Gregory  
9 Warren McBean   9 Scott Fitzgerald  
10 Nic McDonnell   10 Will Hendry  
11 Ryan Hall   11 Josh Scott  
12 Fiston Manuella for 10 (76) 12 Kieran Knight for 9 (58)
14 Adrian Stone for 9 (89) 14 Steve Perkins  
15 Mark Corneille for 7 (79) 15 Esmond James for 7 (74)
16 Anthony Joseph   16 Toby Little for 3 (83)
17 Theo Davis   21 Aaron Howe  
McBean (22).