Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

Hayes & Yeading United 0
Aldershot Town
Half-Time: 0-2 Referee: Mr S Beck Attendance: 505

Nevin with mascot Danielle BurnessUnited were deposited from the FA Trophy in fine style by the Blue Square Premier table toppers at Church Road this afternoon although the home side were not without chances of their own.

The games opening was fairly even, and it was United who made the first chance as Danny Allen-Page and Kieran Knight combined outside the Shots area before the striker played a neat chip into the run of James Mulley who saw his effort blocked away by Nathan Koo-Boothe.

United keeper Delroy Preddie was soon in the action at the other end as a right wing cross found a totally unmarked John Grant at the far post and he was only denied an opener by a fine Preddie tip over the bar.

The visitors began to take a grip on proceedings and went close on 19 minutes when a raking pass from the middle of the park by Lewis Chalmers found Reading loanee Scott Davies on the edge of the area, Pagey shows Straker a clean pair of healshis effort just missing the angle of the woodwork. The opening goal was just one minute away and it came courtesy of a rare Preddie blunder. The keeper having gathered the ball rushed his throw to Steve Perkins who had his back to him which enabled Davies to latch onto the ball and curl a first time effort from 25 yards back into the vacant United net.

As we moved past the half hour mark, United created some openings of their own. Perkins struck a shot into the ground that Shots keeper Mikhael Jaimez-Ruiz punched straight to Josh Scott but his lofted effort cleared the crossbar. Just four minutes of the half remained when Will Hendry put Knight through against Jaimez-Ruiz, the keeper blocked the strikers effort and then managed to get a foot to Hendry's follow up to deny United an equaliser.

Sadly less than 60 seconds later the Shots broke away and doubled their advantage. A ball from midfield sent John Grant away on the right side, he duly outpaced the covering defender before cutting into the box and firing past Preddie into the far corner.

The second period took ten minutes to get going with Preddie being required to keep the deficit at two. Toby Little had the ball taken from him 25 yards from goal by Jonny Dixon who closed in on the United goal only to be denied by a sharp save from the United number 1.

Liam Collins found Scott in the box but his shot on the turn was blocked away by Koo-Boothe and then within a minute Aldershot netted again. Grant was again given far too much space to raid down the left side before hitting an pinpoint cross to Dixon at the far post who was able to head unopposed past Preddie from close range.

Marwa fired high and wide for United when well placed before Dixon doubled his tally, once more courtesy of a Grant pass giving the former Wycombe man a chance to slip the ball under Preddie's dive.

With the game all but over, it was the superior fitness of the visitors that saw them bring the best out of Preddie on 78 minutes. Substitute Kirk Hudson found space on the left and moved into the area before trying an audacious chip that Preddie had to dive full stretch to tip away.

Then with a minute remaining on the referee's watch Hudson took revenge by beating the United keeper from close range. Preddie was caught out of position as he chased down the ball wide of his goal, the Shots cross was partially cleared but the shot by Chalmers was stopped on the 6 yard line by Hudson who turned and placed the ball past the defender covering the line.

Report by Kevin Watts. Photos by Ray Peploe.

Hayes & Yeading United Aldershot Town
1 Delroy Preddie   33 Mikhael Jaimez-Ruiz  
2 Danny Allen-Page   3 Anthony Straker  
3 Toby Little   5 Rhys Day Captain
4 Ram Marwa   7 Louie Soares  
5 Nevin Saroya Captain 8 Lewis Chalmers  
6 James Mulley   9 John Grant  
7 Steve Perkins   12 Jonny Dixon  
8 Will Hendry   16 Scott Davies  
9 Josh Scott   19 Ben Harding  
10 Kieran Knight   20 Rob Gier  
11 Liam Collins   24 Nathan Koo-Boothe  
12 Simon Martin   2 Dean Smith for 20 (76)
14 Staforde Palmer for 9 (69) 6 Anthony Charles for 3 (34)
15 Chris Arthur for 3 (61) 14 Danny Hylton  
16 Michael Barima for 2 (81) 17 Kirk Hudson for 19 (46)
21 Kevin Davies   23 Joel Grant  

Davies (20), Grant (42),
Dixon (60, 72), Hudson (89).